How do I change the business details with the CAC for a registered firm?

1280

Q: I registered a business with the CAC 20 years ago. How do I change the name and/or any other associated details? (Via website contact form)

A: First of all, if you do have a little time on your hands, this is something that you can do yourself without the help of a lawyer. There is no need to go to a lawyer if you understand the process.

Costs: Business name/details change with the CAC

The charges vary, depending on whether you initially registered a business name or an incorporated trustee. If you registered a business name, a business name change costs ₦5,000, a business address change costs ₦1,000 and a change of proprietor (or business founder details) costs ₦1,000. You will also need to add to this, ₦500 for a new name search for the name you want to change it to.
If you registered an incorporated trustee on the other hand, a change of name costs ₦10,000, change of trustees also costs ₦10,000.


How to change your name/details with the CAC

You can do this yourself by registering as a user on www.services.cac.gov.ng. It is best to access this link using Google Chrome, otherwise, it is a very long very painful web experience and everything take ages to load, – that is if the content loads at all!
Alternatively, you can fill out this form http://new.cac.gov.ng/home/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/cac_07a.pdf (If their website is “down”, use this link instead –> cac_07a )and then take it to the Corporate Affair Commission office closest to you, with the appropriate fees.




Below is a list of CAC offices around Nigeria:

Abuja (HQ)
Plot 420, Tigris Crescent,
Off Aguiyi Ironsi Street,
Maitama
Abuja.
email: cservice@cac.gov.ng
Lagos
PLOT 7, OTUNBA JOBI FELE WAY, BEHIND MKO GARDENS,
ALAUSA, IKEJA,
Lagos State
Nigeria
email: oregun@cac.gov.ng
No. 17, Aje Street,
Yaba
Lagos State
Nigeria
email: yaba@cac.gov.ng
Kano
52, Unity Road, off Ibrahim Taiwo Road,
Kano
Kano State
Nigeria
email: kano@cac.gov.ng
Port-Harcourt
Plot 332, Danjuma Drive, Trans Amadi Industrial Layout,
Portharcourt
Rivers State
Nigeria
email: portharcourt@cac.gov.ng
Enugu
Plot 31B, Okpara Avenue
Enugu
Enugu State
Nigeria
email: enugu@cac.gov.ng
Ibadan
Premium House, 1st Floor, Jericho,
opposite Evans publishing company,
Eleyele, Ibadan
Oyo State
Nigeria
email: ibadan@cac.gov.ng
Benin
NO 44, GODWIN ABBE WAY, OFF SAPELE ROAD, G.R.A.,
BENIN-CITY,
Edo State
Nigeria
email: edo@cac.gov.ng
Owerri
BESIDE CITY GLOBAL HOTEL, BY UMUGUMA JUNCTION, PORTHARCOURT ROAD,
Owerri
Imo State
Nigeria
email: owerri@cac.gov.ng
Kaduna
No. 1 Yakubu Avenue, Behind Lugard Hall
Kaduna
Kaduna Sate
Nigeria
email: kaduna@cac.gov.ng
Akure
122, Hospital Road,
Akure
Ondo State
Nigeria
email: akure@cac.gov.ng
Ilorin
10, Adama Bola Sa’adu House 10, Ahmadu Bello way, G.R.A,
Ilorin
Kwara State
Nigeria
email: ilorin@cac.gov.ng
All the best!
http://www.mrpepe.com

I'm an grammar-obsessed writer with a passion for finance, innovation, lifestyle design, tech, healthy eating and who knows what else. Nothing makes my day like a nice, chunky comment on one of my posts to sink my teeth into. So go on, make my day :-)

Comments

  • Hello;

    Do you know where to change address? lots of fields i dont know where to fill.

    Kingsley Felix January 29, 2017 8:17 pm

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *